These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about law and many believe that it controlling the human behaviour. While there is a history of law that runs hundreds of years of past, some people deter to consider law changes people. In this essay, I shall analyse both positive and negative impacts of abiding to the law and rational conclusion is presented at a later stage.

At the outlay, there are several reasons why many people prefer to abide the law. One of them is to live peacefully and make people disciplined. As the initial penalty for braking the law, verbal warnings are introduced. It is then followed by a written warning and a fine. Depends on the cause of breaking the law, people may face a jail time, a life sentence or death penalty in some countries. According to an academic article publish at Harvard University in regarding law, it is revealed that enforcing the law helps people towards prosperity.

Nevertheless, there are some people consider law is an obstruction for a peaceful lifestyle. Moreover, it is argued that harsh punishments such as life sentences, death penalty are cruel and it violates human rights. Yet, authorities tend to enforce law to civilise the society.

While there are strong arguments to support both sides of the case, my opinion is that enforcing law helps people to discipline.