Learning a new language at an early age is helpful for children. Is it more positive for their future aspect or have some adverse effects? Agree or disagree?

In these days, people often take a variety of viewpoints when it comes to most daily life issues. To give an illustration, while many people believe that learning a second language at an early age is conducive to children, other holds the opinion that it is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the latter outlook.

There are a numerous reliable grounds that support the belief that learning foreign language at an early age does not offer any benefits to the youngsters. First and foremost, learning a foreign language at a younger age does not appear to be necessary. This is true because the child is not aware of the benefit of learning a second language and therefore, has no interest and motivation. Without being forced to learn something as abstract as language, it can be argued that the youngsters would have extra time to explore the world around them, which is more conducive.

In addition, ample evidence from a number of studies also suggests that people should not learn a foreign language unless they would use it frequently. There is no doubt that learning language is a daunting and time-consuming task and therefore, it refrains the children from taking part in outdoor activites which are more beneficial. To give an illustration, in my developing countries, parents often urge their children to learn a second language regardless of their usefulness, which occupies most of their time. As such, the child grows up lacking practical skills while forgeting the foreign langauge they learned.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that acquiring a language other than mother tongue at the early age does not hold any merits for children.