"For less developed countries, disadvantages in tourism are greater than advantages". Discuss, give your opinion and examples.

For less developed countries disadvantages in tourism are greater than advantages was always a debatable topic. Many people state that tourism has many disadvantages in under developed countries. It is completely agreed that there are lot of challenges and problems in less developed areas. This essay would further elaborate the reasons why tourism is detriment with clear examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

Firstly, it is said that many underdeveloped countries are high risk for tourists. This is apparent since last few decades. For example, recently in Bangladesh a tourist from Japan and another from Italy were shot dead by the Islamic terrorist State group. This shows that underdeveloped countries are not safe as they lack security measures. Thus, in such type of countries tourist industry has more disadvantages than advantages.

Secondly, there are few aspects of tourism that may harmful to a country. For instance, a country may suffer from the loss of their own traditional culture. This is caused by a people in a country changing their lifestyle, customs and language in order to serve effectively the visitors. In addition, tourists often carry expensive objects like camera, smart phones and electrical gadgets and are unaware of surroundings, they make good targets for theft. Crime also increases as a result of the increases in drugs and prostitution.

According to the arguments aforementioned, it can be concluded that due to lack of security measures and loss of their own culture tourism in under developed countries have many disadvantages.