Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

To what extent do you agree?

With the advent and extensive use of the Internet, social networking has become a subject of considerable controversy. Despite the widely supported opinion that social networking sites are the best solution for facilitating the communication of people around the world, this essay will prove that due to the threat of addiction and security gaps, these websites negatively affect both society as a whole and its members.

To begin with, the transition of human interaction to the digital world is undoubtedly changing the rules of social communication at a tremendous pace. Generally, it is the best way to track the life of your friends and relatives. But in order to keep up with others, people are literally forced to spend more and more time on sites like Instagram, which inevitably leads to addiction. And modern marketing strategies, unfortunately, contribute to this. For instance, youngsters, as the most sensitive part of society, almost immediately become obsessed and devote all their time to these sites, often paradoxically sacrificing real life.

Moreover, the popularity of social networking sites creates a high risk for individuals linked with the disclosure of a large amount of personal information. Most multimedia content is created and shared on sites such as Facebook with open identity and location data. Attackers can simply obtain it and commit a variety of crimes, from identity theft to bank fraud. Although people are aware of such security leaks, thousands of Australians become victims of scammers for billions of dollars every year.

To summarise, in spite of the obvious advantages of social networking sites, their detrimental effects should not be neglected. I firmly believe that due to addictive effects and security breaches these websites make life easier for scammers, and therefore have a mostly negative impact on our lives.