As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

These days, in the conditions of constant urbanization the issue of rapidly growing transport networks has become the subject of considerable controversy. Despite the widely supported opinion that constructing more wide roads could mitigate the problem, this essay will prove that establishing better public transport system provides far greater benefits not only for traffic congestion, but for humanity.

First and foremost, an increasing number of people owning vehicles inevitably leads to the drastically rising release of pollutants in the air, which are obviously detrimental to human health and the planet as a whole. For example, only in Australia car ownership rates has grown for 30% comparing to a previous year. Consequantely, the air quality has deteriorated respectively. Therefore, in order to reduce these drawbacks governments should explore all possible ways to optimize the existing public transport infrastructure or create a brand new one.

Moreover, when it comes to big city centres, car owners may spend hours in traffic jams daily. It is clear, that uncontrolled road building outgrowth does not address the issue. Generally, the public transport and rail-based one in particular, was initially created with the purpose of solving this problem. Many cities all over the world work on making public communications more attractive option for city dwellers. For instance, the government in Melbourne made busses and some trains free for commuters, which considerably relieved the roads.

In conclusion, in spite of the illusory advantages of building more highways for car owning people, the detrimental effects of it should not be neglected. I firmly believe that authorities should consider the improvement already existing or creating better transportation networks for public transport instead of road construction.