Some people consider playing sports is beneficial for schoolchildren. Some, however, believe sport activities also have some drawbacks. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of children playing sports.

Over the last few decades, sport activities have become an integral part of the education system. Many people consider them as mostly healthful for the development of the child in general, whereas others support the view that due to a potential risk of injury there are some drawbacks. This essay will explore pros and cons of playing sport in schools and show why it is beneficial.

To begin with, physical activities assist in breaking the vicious cycle of sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy food by improving calory expenditure. In general, with the growing popularity of entertainment media among schoolchildren it is the only way to avoid being overweight for them nowadays. Thus, necessity of sport activities for pupils is undisputable in developing countries. For example, popular governmental sport initiatives in Australia recommend physical activity requirements for the average child of 60 minutes a day, 5 days a week.

However, during periods of increased growth velocity young athletes are quite vulnerable to various traumatic injuries. This is especially true of bones which are much weaker than in adults, but if fractured heal quicker and better. In addition, encouraged by competitions, children tend to overindulge sport. For instance, they are much more sensitive for loses which may even cause the development of complexes. Nevertheless, physical literacy allows mitigating these negative effects at ease.

To summarise, despite the potential chances of being injured for some pupils, regular sport activities certainly produce more benefits by accustoming them to an active lifestyle from childhood. The arguments presented above make it obvious that the advantages of playing sports in schools far overweigh the drawbacks and, with the right attitude, provide some foundation for a healthy life.