Over the last few decades, the popularity of having an extra year before going to university has been growing dramatically. While most people consider this trend as an opportunity to find yourself and define the path way to the future occupation, many believe that it is only a wasting of precious time. This essay will prove that taking a year off is more beneficial.

First and foremost, with the advancement of the Internet, more and more youngsters face the difficult choice on which their fate depends - the kind of profession and, consequently, the proper university to gain it. Thus, taking an extra year after school to understand yourself and your personal goals is becoming one of the most appropriate ways. For instance, almost third American is used to spending this time travelling abroad and exploring the world.

Moreover, the majority of youth tend to change their opinion about chosen course or even university drastically, which frequently means additional expenses for family. In general, with todays hectic rhythm of life students often realise in the first year that they need something entirely different. This is the frequent reason why about 15% of students drop out each year.

To summorize, despite the widespread belief that having a year off between school and university is useless, spending this time to determine your life goals and th right path way is necessary for youngsters nowadays. This is why I firmly believe that taking this time before university entrance is an essential part of growing up.