University experience is more important than a university’s degree. Some people argue that university life is much more important than an education degree in job market. Do you agree or not agree?

In today’s rapidly changing job market, having a good degree combined with soft skills has become a necessity, thus the way employers assess the academic qualifications of candidates has changed drastically. Despite the widespread opinion that a degree is the foundation of a career, many people believe that active student life is more fruitful for future work. This essay will prove that success in competitive employment sector is determined mainly by university experience.

First and foremost, education system frequently cannot keep up with the constant dramatic progress in technology. Generally, students can spend years studying already outdating information. For example, the constantly evolving artificial intelligence and big data analytics make the material you learn for 5 years almost irrelevant in 2-3 years. Whereas university life can teach students necessary flexibility and adaptability to any change. Consequently, it does not matter how good your degree is if you could not utilize the knowledge you have.

Moreover, student life plays an important role in shaping their system of competencies. The skills acquired at the university, such as communication, planning, critical thinking and problem solving never go out of date and people who have them are always in demand. For instance, about 95 percent of Australian employers are constantly looking for candidates that have the talents that can translate into innovation and out of the box thinking.

In conclusion, the education degree might give you a better understanding of a job subject, but in contemporary labour market you should bring more to the table. That is why I firmly believe that acquiring relevant university experience is actually more important than a degree.