These days a variety of sports for schoolchildren grows and sports become more popular in schools. While some people believe that playing sports is beneficial for children others see drawbacks in sport activities. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of playing sports for schoolchildren and show that benefits obviously overweigh the drawbacks.

On one hand there are known advantages of sports such as positive effect on health and a good sense of competition. It is commonly known that different kind of sports help developing strength, agility and stamina. People who started going in for sports in a young age usually grow up healthier. For instance, they rarely face issues with obesity which is a very common problem nowadays. Another positive factor is the development of a good competition sense which in adult life helps people feeling confident and achieve better results in any area.

On another hand sports activities may lead to different traumas and even produce a negative impact on health in form of persistent issues. A wrong approach in engaging children into sports may lead to serious traumas and even develop persistent health problems in future. For instance, playing soccer produces negative impact on the knee joints not even mentioning possible fractures of shins or feet bones. However, a proper approach and good maintenance of the training process helps mitigating the chance of such issues.

Considering all the above, sports for schoolchildren obviously have advantages as well as some disadvantages. Of course, the chance of possible traumas as well as the chance to develop persistent health issues can be mitigated with a proper approach of engaging children into sports. And that's why the beneficial effect on health and good sense of competition obviously overweigh due to they help to succeed in adult life.