Some people consider playing sports is beneficial for schoolchildren. Some, however, believe sport activities also have some drawbacks. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of children playing sports.

These days a variety of sports for schoolchildren grows and sports become more popular in schools. Some people believe that playing sports is beneficial for children. While other see drawbacks in sport activities. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of playing sports for schoolchildren and show that benefits obviously overweigh the drawbacks.

On one hand there are known advantages of sports such as positive affect on health and a good sense of competition. It commonly known that different kind of sports help developing strength, agility and stamina. People who started going in for sports in a young age usually grow up healthier. For instance, they rarely face issues with obesity which is a very common problem. Another positive factor is development of a good competition sense which in adult life helps people feeling confident and achieve better results in any area.

On another hand sports activities may lead to different traumas and even produce a negative impact on health in form of persistent issues. A wrong approach in engaging children into sports may lead to serious traumas and even develop persistent health problems in future. For instance, playing soccer produces negative impact on the knee joints not even mentioning possible fractures of shins or feet. However, a proper approach and good maintenance of the training process helps mitigating the chance of such issues.

Considering all the above, sports for schoolchildren obviously have advantages as well as some disadvantages. Of course, the chance of possible traumas as well as development of persistent health issues can be mitigated with a proper approach of engaging children into sports. And that's why the beneficial affect on health and good sense of competition obviously overweigh the drawbacks due to they help to succeed in adult life.