Many students take part-time jobs while studding in university. Do you think it is a good idea or bad idea?

Learning any subject at a university or a college requires dedication, focus and ample time. These days, some students tend to take up part-time jobs while they study at a university. This essay will discuss the disadvantages of this approach and the reasons why students should allocate their entire time and effort for only studies.

A student who takes up a job while studying, has to balance both his studies and his job responsibilities. This creates unnecessary pressure on the student as he struggles to manage both. For example, according to a recent study by Stanford University, more than 40% of the students who take up part-time jobs do not submit their course assignments on time. This can be unnerving for the student as he may not be able to cope up with his course work due to lack of time.

When a student takes up a job, he is excited at the prospect of earning some extra money. In most cases, students tend to take immature decisions and may use the income for smoking, drinking and other unproductive activities. For instance, a recent study by the University of Colombia reported a 20% increase in smoking, by students who are employed part-time. Additionally, this may also create greed in students who may give up studying all together, since they want to earn faster.

This essay has argued that working while studying will be detrimental to a student's future. In my opinion, students should dedicate their entire energy and time to learn and should not get distracted by enticing employment opportunities.