The mass media including TV, radio and newspaper influence our society and shape our opinions and characters. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, whether the mass media has a vital influence on the society and peoples characters or not, has attracted numerous controversies and drawn the attention from the public. Some people believe that TV, radio and newspaper play a great role to form our society and the personalities of individuals while other hold the view that media could not have any principle effects on peoples and the society. In my opinion, I am convinced that the mass media has influence on both the society as well as on people due to educational and psychological reasons.

First and foremost, it has been argued that the educational reason is why I think people usually get their information they need from the media. Although potentially the negative impacts of these subjects that must occasionally be taken into account, I still consider that these sources of information have in many ways enormously enriched people’s lives. For example, a well-known American scientist once said “ the mass media is crucial to have a delighted society”.

Moreover, another factor should be considered is the psychological reason, which in other words, the mass media can easily direct the public opinion by broadcasting the message by the way of what they want. As far as the society is concerned, the ultimate aim of these subjects is to effect on public’s personalities so that the authorities of these kinds of media could have a magnificent control on the society. For example a recent research published on Scientist American revealed that by controlling the mass media governments could dictate variety of opinions to their communities.

To sum up, I hold the view that, the mass media have a great influence on people’s characters and shape the view of society due to educational and psychological reasons.(293)