The mass media including TV, radio, newspaper influence our society and shape our opinions and characters. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, mass media plays a dominant role, which has attracted many controversies and has drawn attention from the public. It is agreed that mass media has a positive impact on society, while on the other hand, stands a perspective that it has some negative consequences on their thinking. But In my opinion, mass media plays a constructive role in society. This essay will elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are various reasons how mass media has positively affected the society, and the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it gives freedom to people to express themselves on a bigger platform. As an illustration, mass media plays an important role for people who are shy or criticised to present themselves in a public arena. Furthermore, keeping themselves tuned to the world broaden their horizons. Hence, this shows that presenting views through status updates and twitter handles is a new way to development.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of mass media and the most alarming one roots from the fact that in the light of serious terriorist attacks, communal riots and violent civil movements mass media has adversely affected the people. For instance, it is often seen that television and newspapers demonstrate many cases of rapes, child abuse and caste discrimination which shake the trust of humanity. Thus, mass media has a negative influence on society especially younger ones.

In the light of above discussion, it is concluded that the impact of mass media is prominent, although the way it is presented can make or break the society.