“ People should pursue meaning, not happiness”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/ or examples from your own experience, observation or reading.

Finding happiness or meaning has become the most overrated discussion nowadays. Some people claim that pursuing happiness is the most important task in their lives, while others believe that finding meaning in life is most precious. I totally agree with this view that meaning is the most enduring thing. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, happiness is temporary and can give few good moments in our lives. These moments are short-lived and the moment they turn into bad experiences or situations in one’s life, it gives anxiety, stress and insecurity to people. For example, getting a high paid job may bring happiness to some, but when it starts affecting them within, they become unhappy and choose more peaceful low-salaried jobs. Thus, it shows that happiness is not a lifelong phenomenon and it should be dealt with as it comes and then let it go.

In contrast, finding meaning in life is a more enduring thing and bring peace to people. This happens when people stop running into their lives and choose to stay calm and relaxed irrespective of any circumstance or situation they may face in their lives. For instance, pursuing passions can bring more mindfulness and peace to one and hardly matters whether they learn it to earn their living or not. Hence, the meaning is a more definite phenomenon and makes one composed and serene.

This essay discussed how pursuing happiness is time-bound and meaning is a more flexible and permanent approach to life. In my opinion, pursuing meaning is the only thing that we should long for in our lives, rest is just momentary.