Mass media like TV, newspaper and radio influence people, particularly young generation. Do you think it works as a pivot to shape the society? What is your opinion?
In recent years there has been a colossal (extremely large or great) change in the way
of mass communication thanks to the ubiquity of the state-of-the-art. As such, there
are both merits and demerits to this trend. Although, I am of the view that the former
oust the latter.
A large number of benefits can be attributed to this development. On the one hand, by
utilising such advanced communication tools as Facebook, Twitter and the like, now
media can reach a much broader range of consumers, as they no longer have to rely
on conventional newspapers, magazines. On the other hand with the proliferation of
the Internet and Internet enable devices like notebooks, smart phones, people can
check e-mails, read e-papers and what not, even when they are on the move. Thus,
keeping themselves abreast with the ever changing world.
Another pivotal aspect of this development is that it has enabled different societies
whether they are situated locally or far away, to enlighten each other by sharing their
knowledge in numerous fields, from history and culture to Art and literature. Besides,modern methods of mass communication can augment awareness of a range of
societal usages that can be addressed accordingly. Hence, it is apparent how societybenefits astronomically.