Mass media like TV, newspaper and radio influence people, particularly young generation. Do you think it works as a pivot to shape the society? What is your opinion?

In this day and age, the issue of mass media and its corresponding influence has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many, a substantial number of people hold true the idea that TV, newspapers and radio can form the society, which I opt to vigorously support. Provided with statistics and scientific research, this will be analyzed throughout the following essay before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

For one, it is commonly accepted that in this digital revolution era, channels of communications such as broadband internet access, editorials as well as print media open up avenues for culture exchange. To put this idea forward, journalists in University of Washington undertook a study to investigate the link between the media type and people’s culture. It has been revealed that those who watch TV on a daily basis positively correlates with their tendency to spread their culture and lifestyle. Hence, beneficial ramifications of such an idea can be seen with clarity.

In addition to this, mass media is considered as a major source of information, and this can make contributions to mold people’s minds by broadcasting pre-selected contents. According to my experience, Harvard university researchers conducted an experiment on two different audience groups. They concluded that people listening to a larger number of radio stations are two times less likely to believe political propaganda. In this regard, media bias, invasion of privacy and identity theft should be taken into account. Therefore, this example fortifies the argument that mass media can shape the society.

To recapitulate, after analyzing the effects of mass media on the society as a means of culture exchange and information source, it is felt that people’s thinking can fall under influence of mass media.