The means of communicating in society today has changed markedly over the last ten years, in your opinion, what are the positive and negative impacts of this change?

People have been markedly changing their communication means for the last ten years. Online communication through social networks and messaging apps is usually preferred over live talks. The questions around positive and negative impacts of this change have become a subject of considerable controversy. This essay will analyse both the negative and positive aspects of the change.

On the one hand, online chats have simplified a lot of things in the usual routine of communication for an ordinary person. For example, it is obviously easier for an individual to just reach out to a friend in a social network chat or in a message rather than arrange a live meeting. It is well known that live meetings always require significant time to organize. On the contrary, a quick online chat, even with a video call, usually takes a matter of minutes.

On the other hand, people started building different psychological issues, like misanthropy, without ever meeting other people in person. This issue has become even more severe for the younger ones. To guarantee proper socialization, children should spend a lot of time with their friends to communicate and play offline. The lack of such live communication may lead to serious social and psychological problems in the future and thus cannot be fully replaced by online chats.

In conclusion, while the advantages of the features the Internet provides to society should not be ignored, the obvious problems produced by the lack of live communication should not be ignored, and people should consider pushing themselves to use more in person communication.