The importance of assessing students by written examinations, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of judging students’ performance through written examinations has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the education system in recent years. It can be said that there are both benefits and drawback of written exams. This essay will elaborate on how written examinations can be a fair method of checking students’ abilities and how it will hinder true capabilities of students and thus will lead to a reasoned conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why the assessment of students through written examinations is beneficial, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that these types of pedagogies are traditionally proven to be successful in terms of checking students’ knowledge and skills under a similar atmosphere. As an illustration, in a mathematical written examination, every student has to solve problems under the same time constraints and pressure so that it measures who is the most capable of achieving the highest grades. Thus, written examinations can be reasonable to check individual performance.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential impact of written examinations, but the most alarming one is rooted in the fact that there are external factors that can lead students underperforming on the exam day. For example, a test taker might be in different circumstances such as stress, illness or a problem at home. Moreover, their performance will not be to their level of knowledge and skills due to these factors, which can be detrimental to their future pursuits.

To conclude, the impact of written examinations on students is prominent, although the way it may reduce the students’ performance should be well-handled.