It is being increasingly acknowledged that the happiness level of citizens in a country is a vital measurement when it comes to measuring the success of a government. However, the controversial topic of whether this is more important than the national economic growth never fails to attract the public attention. As far as I am concerned, I tend to be the advocate in respect of this issue.

People who emphasize the importance of economic growth index are primarily focusing on the idea that money is fundamental for all people. This is to say, without decent amount incumbent, the government will not have enough resources for the infrastructure of cities such as building roads. Nevertheless, this argument cannot hold water. This is because every individual is the essential components of a country instead of money. This is to say, a government’s ultimate goal is to increase every citizen’s quality of life.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that how joyful that citizens are is more important than how much economic growth that a country has. Money is just a tool to achieve a better life. For instance, a billionaire who needs to travel around the world and has no time for his or her family is not necessarily happier a normal person who enjoys spending time on things that he or she likes. Hence, the happiness level plays a more critical role in the measurement of the success of a country.

In a nutshell, we can safely reach the conclusion that making everyone in the society happier should be the ultimate goal and therefore we should pay more attention to it, despite the fact that economic growth is also extremely crucial in terms of achieving this goal.