Which one is better, Textbook library or new digital material in university. The role of a library in keeping books is obsolete. So universities should use digital media. What is your opinion? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is being increasingly acknowledged that digital media are playing a more and more important role in our daily life. While some people believe that universities should get rid of textbooks, others advocate that the existence of real books is vital to not only universities but also the whole human society. As far as I am concerned, textbooks and libraries should not remain in universities in spite of the cultural meaning they are carrying.

People who emphasize the importance of libraries and textbooks are primarily focusing on the culture and history behind the idea of real books. Civilization has been built up I people who relied heavily on the knowledge in real books since more than 5000 years ago. Hence, preserving textbooks is regarded as keeping the evidence of what brought human civilization so far from the perspective.

Regardless of the symbolic idea behind textbooks, digital media advocate can find a number of advantages of digital media over textbooks. Firstly, they regard textbooks obsolete compared to digital books. With digital media, you can preserve millions of books on just one handful device instead of a whole library. In addition, it is much easier to get access to digital contents than library categories. Moreover, digital media can interact with the readers and express information in a variety of ways. For example, audio and video can describe scenes more vividly than the simple written words.

While this controversial topic of Digital media should replace textbooks is still open to debate. I believe the inevitable results of digital media taking place of textbooks is in the future. It is just much more convenient and efficient to use digital media rather than the traditional textbooks to convey any information. The ways of communication and expressing ideas have to involve as well as our human society.