Obesity has been linked to excessive sugar consumption. Some people believe that sugary drinks should be taxed to dissuade people from drinking

them while others think that a tax is unnecessary and that public education is the best way to decrease sugar consumption.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences,

observations or reading.

Write between 200 and 300 words.

Since the beginning of the 21st century, a high number of foods and beverages have contained a high percentage of sugar, which consequently increase the obesity phenomenon. Some people believe that governments should impose a high taxes on these products in order to limit consumption of these products, while others argue that sugar consumption could be decreased more effectively through educating people using advertisements. This essay will discuss how increasing the taxes on foods and beverages will cause a huge impact on people consumption and therefore will reduce the spread of obesity problem within the societies.

Firstly, increasing the prices of products which contain sugar will lead people to choose other products which contain less sugar. People prefer choosing the cheapest products, and consequently, the obesity problem will be solved. Recent research, which was made in USA, has shown that American people have altered toward the diet foods because they are less expensive. Therefore, it seems clear that increasing prices of eating products will solve the obesity problem.

Secondly, imposing more taxes on the eating products which contain sugar protect the health of people. Obesity is a dangerous disease, which needs a lot of money to treat from. Recent research, which was made in USA, has shown that American government spends more than 2 trillion on curing people from obesity diseases. Thus, increasing prices of sugary foods and beverages will reduce the cost of curing, and consequently, this money could be used in other beneficial fields.

In conclusion, this essay discussed how increasing taxes on foods and beverages which include sugar will improve the economic of the country. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that raising taxes on sugary foods will protect people health and will have a significant impact on the country economical situation.