The importance of improved medical care, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The potential impact of improved medical care has sparked this controversy over the potential impact of this trend on increased life expectancy. It can be said that improved medical care is a blessing, however, some people believe that it is a curse. This essay will elaborate how advanced medical care can play a major role in eradicating diseases and how it can also be a burden to humans and will lead to a conclusion.

At the outset, there are a number of reasons why improved medical care is a blessing, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that with advancements in medical science, researchers are able to find a cure for newly emerging diseases. Furthermore, it has helped the medical industry in eradicating life-threatening diseases. For example, smallpox and polio have been eradicated from this world due to improved medical care. Advancements in medical care, therefore, can play a vital role in increasing the life expectancy of humans.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks which can overwhelm the benefits of improved medical care nut the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that as life expectancy increases, the world population also increases. Furthermore, as the population increases, a wide variety of problems are caused not only to humans but also to non-human beings. For example, a study found out that 20% increase in China's life expectancy has led to 40% decrease in their GDP. Increased life expectancy due to improved medical care hence can be a curse to the mankind.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that the role of improved medical care is prominent in increasing life expectancy, although the way it acts as a curse should not be overlooked.