One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing, is this a curse or blessing?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the development of better medical technologies. However, there is a One One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the development of better medical technologies. However, there is a widespread worry that augmented rise of medical technology will be a curse as it is directly proportional to an increase in life expectancy. This essay will discuss why in my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and needs serious consideration as life expectancy increase due to better medical technology is a curse to mankind.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that increase in life expectancy brings additional burden to the existing population. Needless to say, that population increase not only causes a wide range of problems just to the human population, but it also causes trouble to the non-human animal population. For example, a 20% increase in life expectancy rate in China has caused a 40% reduction in per capita income to its existing population. Thus, increase in the population due to enhanced life expectancy is a major drawback.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that modern medical technology responsible for life expectancy has also caused extended damage to the natural environment. Unlike in past, evolving medical technology is increasingly consuming components that are not eco-friendly. For instance, hospitals using components made of plastic has increased tremendously which is harmful to the environment. Above reasons are enough to support my notion that there is a huge damage to the environment caused by medical technology to improve life expectancy.

From what has been discussed, one can conclude that an increase in Life expectancy due to better medical technology is a curse as it causing an increase in population and damage to the environment. In my opinion, although life expectancy is indeed increasing it is definitely a curse rather than a blessing.