One way to solve the problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

Most of the cities in the world are now facing the problem of congestion and long rush hour commute. Governing bodies of crowded cities are actively considering the option of building sky trains. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of overhead rail lines.

The speed of completion for sky train projects is significantly faster compared to surface and underground rail lines. Building ground rail needs acquisition of land to start the work, which can cause significant delay to the project. For example, the metro sky rail project in Singapore was completed in just one year whereas the new ground rail project in Dubai took almost three years to complete. This shows that the sky rail lines can be built significantly faster than ground rail.

There are many consultants who worry about the safety of sky trains. Safety concerns are generally considered as a disadvantage of sky rail commute options. But recent studies show that the advances in latest technology have improved the safety of sky trains. This suggests that sky trains are a good option despite the safety questions.

This essay discussed the advantages and disadvantages of using sky train to solve the congestion in cities. It is clear that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages and sky trains are an effective solution rather than ground and underground commute options.