Parent are responsible for the behaviour of their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The responsibility of parents toward children has been marked by controversy among people. While many of them claim that parents should be comprehensively responsible for children’s manner, I am totally convinced that they should just shoulder responsibility for giving a proper upbringing to the new generations.

Unlike past decades, nowadays parents have less time to spend with their children owing to play their professional role out of the home. As a result, children spend a great deal of time in care-givers centres or at schools which have different policy and responsibility toward children’s upbringing. Therefore, babysitters, education authorities and generally society seem to be the main responsible for distinguishing between right and wrong from an early age for children. As it firmly shows, under this circumstances parents’ role in children upbringing is not such it was in the past so everything that parents can do for the new generation is to provide appropriate conditions for them so that they can recognize their troubling deeds and how to be responsible for their own acts.

Moreover, today with the widespread use of internet and social networks by the new generations, children’s behaviour are affected by numerous factors which are not related to parents and their families. For example, juvenile delinquency which has been increased in the recent decade may have roots in some social networks which encourage youngsters to commit crimes. As it is clear, parents cannot be responsible for such criminal behaviour of their young children and children should take the responsibility of what they did.

As a conclusion, I would like to reaffirm that while parents should take the responsibility for providing an appropriate condition for upbringing well-behaved children, they are not responsible for what path their children choose to take.