Parents are responsible for the behavior of the children. To what extent do you agree or
disagree?
In this day and age, the subject regarding whether parents are responsible for their children’s acts and
behavior has become a heated debate. Although contested by many, a substantial number of people
hold true the notion that parents should take responsibility of their child’s actions, which I support it.
This will be analyzed in this essay.
For one, it is commonly accepted that children are blank slate and they absorb even the tiniest bits of
information from their parents. For example, a 5 years old boy can easily learn coarse language, if his
parents talk to each in an abusive way. This example clearly shows that children are like sponge and
their characters can be easily shaped by their parents’. Thus, it is quite evident why this idea has
garnered support.
In addition, parents act as the child’s leaders, and for this they are accountable for teaching social
behavior to their child as well as disciplining him. As my own experience, my (never-born!) nephew
used to bring home his friend’s toys whenever he went to his house for playing. His parents talked
with him and explained to him to why this unauthorized action is not a correct one. As this
unacceptable manner could have been become a habit, parents’ role to discipline the children and to
teach them what is wrong and what is correct is quite evident. This example fortifies the argument
why parents are responsible for their children’s behavior.
To conclude, after analyzing how parents’ own behavior can mirror their child’s in addition to their
leadership role, it has been proven that why they should be accountable for what their kid does.