In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Despite the emergence of various modern ways to gain wisdom, reduce stress, and expand knowledge, reading habit is still preferable for many people. Nowadays, technological advances have propelled book lovers to opt for electronic books even though the number of those preferring traditional ones cannot be underestimated. In my opinion, e-books have more to offer than printed ones.

Digital editions of books bring some prominent merits. To begin with, that e-books do not disturb the environment is one of the most crucial criteria encouraging those concerning about the nature to choose them to read. The fact that e-books are available on-line makes individuals able to get access to their books through a provided internet link. Indeed, publishing this type of books does not require paper which itself is supplied from trees. Therefore, trees traditionally removed to provide the basic material are now survived, causing less perturbation to the nature.

Another boon of selecting e-books stems from their portability. Today, digital devices’ ubiquity, like tablets and iPads, enables people to read their desirable books almost everywhere. In fact, it opens up an opportunity for those who are busy with their work and do not have enough time to dedicate to read books to study their favourable books while they are waiting for someone or for an appointment. Not only is it beneficial for readers but also enhances the society’s per capita reading habit. Paper editions, on the other hand, are not easy to be at hand, since people need to carry the books they want to look through the pages.

To sum up, in the light of aforementioned benefits, I can conclude that digital books propose more plus points, as they are environmentally friendly and portable compared to hard copies.