Parents should be held legally responsible for children’s act. What is your opinion?

A childs action speaks of parents teachings. Some people think that parents should be held legally responsible for their childrens’ act, while others maintain the other way around. This essay will discuss that why parents should be held accountable for their children’s act.

Firstly, there are myriad of arguments in favour of holding parents accountable for their childrens’ act. To begin with, parents are the best teachers and can preach best ethical values and inculcate good moral values in their children. Additionally, the proportion of attention given by parents is manifested through a childs good or bad actions and consequently depicts the level of involvment and fullfilment of responsibility by parents. Hence, owing to the primary role that parents have, they must be held responsible for their childrens’ act.

On the other hand, proponents of the view that parents should be held accountable for their children’s act support the proposition until the child is under 18 years of age. Therefore, by reaching the age limit of grown ups parents are no more required to be held responsible for their kids actions. As an example, law of California act 1990 clearly specifies parents to be accountable for their children's’ act aged under 18. As a matter of fact, parents are still required to be held accountable for their child's action and involvement in criminal activities in the tender age bracket.

In conclusion, parents being best the teachers and closest to their children need to teach high moral values to refrain their kids from bad actions. However, I opine that role of parents is the most crucial in the grooming of their kids and they should be held accountable for their off springs actions.