Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal examples.

Most people claim that parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s deeds. As children often mimic their parents, in my opinion, I strongly believe that parents are legally responsible. In this essay, I will discuss some points that will justify my viewpoint.

There are a plethora of factors that I would like to substantiate my view point, but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that, children often learn from their parents in their early age, as they spend most of the time with their parents. Hence, it is parent’s responsibility to teach their children morals, values and good deeds. If children fail to learn, parents should make sure they correct and learn from their mistakes. For example, if a child steals a toy from his friend, parents should teach them that stealing is a crime. Thus, the child will slowly inculcate some good habits which will become their inbuilt attitude.

Moreover, if a child accomplishes something, then parents take the credit. Similarly, if a kid takes a wrong step, then parents should only be liable for those acts. For example, the leading actor Jackie Chan had taken responsibility for his son’s drug use and apologized to public on behalf of him by telling that he failed to be a good father. Although, undeniably, parents try to teach their children good values. But children might emulate or learn things from their surroundings as well. So, in such cases parents should make sure they do not follow the wrong path.

Considering all the above points, from my personal perspective, I conclude that parents should be accountable for their children’s acts, and should mold them into better citizens of our future nation.