Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is YOUR opinion?

Parents are the role models for their children and plays important role in their upbringing. A child spends more time with parents than anyone else. Children do and say many things which they have learnt from their parents. I believe parents are responsible for their children’s behavior. In further paragraphs I will share examples and reasons to support my opinion.

Firstly, a growing child absorbs actions and words very quickly without even judging whether it is right or wrong. They spend more time with parents so whatever language they speak, their actions, culture and even faith children adopt. For example, I brought up in a vegetarian and religious Hindu family and on the other hand my friend brought up in a non-vegetarian catholic Christian family. In public, one can easy tell the difference in our upbringing from our clothes, words, attitude and habits.

Secondly, responsible parents are not only involved in giving basic needs like food, shelter and education but also they need to teach social behavior to their children. If parents are themselves very disciplines and socially active, this will reflect in children’s actions too. For example, my neighbor’s parents had served in armed forces so manners, discipline and healthy lifestyle reflects from his behavior.

To conclude, it is right to say that “Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts”. As parents play vital role in the life of children. Children’s behavior and attitude gives an idea about the values and background of their family.