Whether the most vital invention of the previous century has been in the medical, scientific, or technological field has been discussed widely. Although each field has its own advocates, this essay will discuss why the most significant advancements have been in medicine.

In the past, people used to die from various infectious and contagious diseases such as chicken pox, measles, mumps, and plague, known as the black death. However, advancements in medicine saved millions of lives. Doctors and researchers have studied symptoms of various diseases and discovered numerous bacteria and viruses causing dangerous diseases as well as their treatments and preventive methods. Particularly, antibiotics and vaccination have largely rendered many conditions obsolete worldwide. Without these advancements, many scientists and inventors would have been died before being able to make any change in the world.

On the other hand, researches in medicine have long been working on genetic disorders. They have now a profound knowledge of human DNA, its combinations and effects on our bodies. The advancements in this field have enabled professionals to examine parents' genes before pregnancy to ensure healthy babies with no obscure or difficult diseases or mother-borne conditions are born. Their attempts have noticeably increased the number of healthy newborn infants.

In conclusion, I strongly believe although we have witnessed a countless number of progressions in different fields including science, technology, and medicine, medical advancements are significantly more important because of their internationally big scales and effects on human health.