The purpose of conducting scientific research projects is for practical use rather than for the sake of doing research itself. Do you agree?

In these days, people often take a variety of viewpoints when it comes to most daily life issues. To give an illustration, while many people believe that scientific research projects should be conducted for the purpose of practical use rather than for the sake of the research itself, others hold the opinions that this is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the former outlook.

There are numerous reliable grounds that support the belief that scientific projects should have practical application. First and formost, it would be cost effective to conduct research projects that have practical application because such application would then help improving humans’ life. This is especially true in the in field of medicine where thousands and millions of dollars are spent every year in search of new therapy and treatment for diseases such as cancer. Without any practical application, it can be argued that people are wasting their money doing research projects which do not have any benefits in return.

In addition, ample evidence from a number of studies also suggests that the quality of humans’ life has been significantly enhanced thanks to many scientific breakthroughs in many fields such as medicine and technology. There is no doubt that these practical findings are extremely conducive to human as compared to those non-practical ones. To give an illustration, in the field of medicine, thousands of life have been saved thanks to a breakthrough in the treatment of cancer, which has remained incurable for many decades.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that practical application should be the key objective of scientific research projects.