A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

Nowadays, schools are following new system in teaching how to write, where children write using some devices such as smart phones, tablets and computers rather than using their hands. Some people believe that adopting these methods in writing are the attributes of this era, while others argue that teaching handwriting is essential and cannot be replaced by other technologies. This essay will discuss the reasons why teaching handwriting is the source of learning and it should be learned in parallel with teaching use other devices.

Teaching handwriting at schools is essential because it can be used at any time, even with no electricity. Human has to know how to write using their hands in the case of absence of electricity. Scientists believe that the era of generating power and electricity will end at some time in the future. Therefore, schools have to take precautions and teach their students how to write using their hands.

On the other hand, other people think that altering toward using some devices in writing, such as smart-phones, tablets and computers is easier and faster. Children can use these devices easily by touching on what they need. But these people unaware that children must know how to use their hands in absence of these devices. Thus, learning handwriting at school is essential and should not be replaced by typing using technologies devices.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the reasons why children at schools have to learn using their hands in writing to record notes in absence of electricity. In my opinion, I am believe that learning hand writing is very important and cannot be replaced by improving typing skills.