Poverty is a major issue world wide. Many charities exist to help collect monetary donations. Who should decide what the donations are spent on? The people in need or the charitable organizations?

Since the beginning of the 21st century, phenomenon of the poverty has spread widely throughout the world, and the need for charities existence has increased significantly. Some people believe that people should have the choice to select where the collected money should be spent, while others argue that charitable organizations should have the right of selection on this money. This essay will discuss the reasons why the people in need must choose where the donations should be spent.

People in need have the legal right to choose where the donation monies should be spent because they have known the required services. The needs of people differ, which could be as a medical services or a financial services. Recent research, which was conducted in the Cambridge University, has shown that 90% of monetary donations are not used in a suitable manner when they are given to charitable organizations. Therefore, it seems clear that monetary donations should be expended based on the people needs.

On the other hand, some people think that charitable organizations own the legal right on spending the monetary donations. They believe that these organizations have known the requirements of people and people may use these donations improper ways. But these people are unaware of the fact that these organizations are spending a large amount of donations on unnecessary activities that do not help people. Thus, poor people should select how to spend their financial donations without intervene charitable organizations.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why people own the right to choose where the monetary donations should be spent without the intervention of any charitable organizations. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that people know there needs and it is better they select their requirements.