Poverty is a major issue worldwide. Many charities exist to help collect monetary donations. Who should decide what the donations are spent on? The people in need or the charitable organisations?Support your point of view from your own experience, observations or reading

The role of charitable organizations in spending the donations is widely debated, with many people claiming that they should not decide where the donations are spent on. However, in my view, the impoverished people should have the ultimate say in this decision. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various reasons why authorities and charitable organizations should not be involved in decision-making where money is concerned. The most conspicuous one is that they often misuse the people’s fund by channelling them into less important activities or most of the times fill their pockets. Moreover, the purpose of the donations deviates and it is the poor people who ultimately suffer. Thus, these corrupt organizations undoubtedly do not value the donations.

On contrary, another perspective that the poor people should decide how and where to spend the money has a potential influence. These needy people are the real sufferers of the hardships and understand the value of money. Furthermore, they are the better ones who can decide where they want to spend the money. Hence, the chances of misusing the funds by these people in need are very less and therefore, will use them more appropriately and wisely.

In view of the arguments outlined above, the charitable organizations are not the better authority to take the decision concerning the donations, but the poor people should themselves decide where they want to use the money as they are the ones who understand the real value of money and will make a wise decision.