Some people believe that law changes human behaviour. Do you agree with it?

Nowadays, the significant influence of law has attracted many controversies and drawn attention from the public. Some people contend that law guides humans and change their behaviour. Perhaps, in my view, there is a change in attitude when people resort to legal compliance. This essay will further elaborate on both the sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various arguments in favour of a change in human behaviour due to the strict law. The most conspicuous one is that government enforces stringent rules and strict penalties to curb crime. Furthermore, they act as watchdogs to prevent the unlawful activities and supervise the actions of its people. For example, there is a fall in the cases of drunken driving by enforcing strict penalties. Hence, there is a positive influence of legal actions on the people of the nation.

Nevertheless, there is another view, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of law on its people and most alarming one is that a person’s faith is badly dented when the offender is freed unpunished. For instance, there are cases when the law is not executed to the full extent and the innocent suffers whole life. Thus, in such cases including rapes, genocide and mass murder, the guilty is unprosecuted and therefore, allows him to do more crime.

In the view of the arguments outlined above, the impact of the law on human behaviour is prominent, and by this way, it directs a person to become a good man.