As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The average life expectancy is increasing of both men and women owing to advancement in medical care. Some people assert that this is positive advancement whereas others disagree with this statement. I think this is not a positive development, and it has innumerable disadvantages to both society, and a person himself.

The first main disadvantage is financial stress that may affect certain families. The elderly people are more prone to sickness and would have been sent to hospitals for their regular treatments. These treatments are very expensive and funded by the family members which creates disharmony among them. It has also been observed in some of the families that the old age parents are sent to elderly care centres instead to keep them at their own home.

The second disadvantage is resource allocation stress on the government. It can never be denied that more population means more unemployment and scarcity of natural resources. Hence, the government feel unable to allocate the resources to its all denizens. India, for example, wherein some of the regional areas, people are dying because of appetite. Some of them are committing suicide because of non-availability of jobs in their areas.

In conclusion, it can be said that although the advancement in medical care has increased the life expectancy for both men and women, however; there are certain disadvantages which can never be applauded.