As a result of advances in medical care. Average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an aging population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The world has witnessed a myriad of advancements in the health sector over the last few decades. As of today, we are now living longer than in the past due to the development of medical care. Whether this phenomenon is a boon or a curse is questionable. This essay will illustrate the demerits of increased life expectancy following a pragmatic approach.

First and foremost, aged people are not a helping hand in the society rather a burden. Most of the older people are physically unable to perform work and contribute to the society. A recent study conducted by the University of Oxford in the year of 2013 suggested that about five percent of world's GDP is eaten up by the increased number of older people. Furthermore, the elderly people also intensify the unemployment problem at a great level throughout the planet.

To add to that, living longer for both man and women also causes many social problems. Aged ones are mostly in a need of support of other to move around and live along. Take the example of a friend where he got four elderly which sometimes makes his family members cry as they need to carry forward an intense nursing of them, regularly. Therefore, they are not feeling happy at all inside of their hearts.

To finish off, increased life expectancy might not be preferable to most of us as it breaks down the social balance in many forms. However, it is expected that the aged people would be an asset to the society in the time ahead when further technological advancement will take place.