As a result of advances in medical care average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development what are the disadvantages of an aging population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

We live in a modern world where people gets myriad of benefits. With an advancement in medical care, we are now witnessing an increase in the average life expectancy for men and women. This phenomenon has both the pros and cons which will be highlighted below followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, longer life gives us a better opportunity to perform our duty efficiently. Take the example of my grandfather who lived for 100 years which helped him to nurture his children in a better way helping them in attaining a better education to serve the humanity the better. Therefore, living for a longer period definitely assists us to shape our society.

On the other hand, increase in average life expectancy also leaves some demerits to our society. I know a family, talking about my experience, where there are four elderly people who regularly need special support and treatment to move around. Such a situation sometimes made their family members cry as of they are considered as a burden to them, occasionally.

To conclude, it is quite clear that increase in life expectancy due to a robust medical care is a blessing to a certain extent, but not all the time. If the aged persons are sound in health only then they might contribute our community positively.