Road rules are generally enforced by fining people for infringements. Some people, however, believe that governments should not penalize unsafe drivers but reward safe drivers instead.

Which view do you support?

Traffic fines and penalties exist in almost all parts of the world. While some people argue that there is no improvement to overall road safety and compliance to traffic rules by penalizing the violators, others maintain that punishing drivers with traffic violations with hefty fines is actually necessary. This essay will discuss why it is prudent to impose fines for unsafe drivers rather than reward safe drivers.

The number of vehicles on the road has increased exponentially and this has eventually produced more and more drivers. If we decide to reward all safe drivers, the portion of reward each individual is going to get will be minuscule. Studies on human psychology show that there will be no respect or consideration for a reward which is of negligible size. Therefore, the idea of rewarding safe drivers instead of penalizing dangerous drivers will be a bad idea.

Despite the inevitable needs to enforce traffic rules, some people think that traffic fines are negative approach for enforcing road safety. What they don’t understand is that number of repeat traffic offenders is increasing year over year. For example, in the state of California itself, sixty percent of its annual traffic convictions were life-threatening offenses. This indicates that there is no reason to leave the traffic offenders unpunished.

There are conflicting views about enforcing traffic penalties. In my opinion, penalizing unsafe drivers is a better approach than rewarding safe drivers.