Regulating drivers' on road behaviour is an ongoing social issue. Typically, governments enforce good driving standards by penalising bad drivers and fining them. This, however, is not the only way to improve people's driving skills; governments can also incentive safe driving through rewards. This essay will discuss why both penalty and reward need to be used.

Left to their own devices, people would break the law, including road laws. There is no doubt that people would speed, cut other drivers off and perform and array of dangerous driving behaviours. Enforcing safe driving through financial disincentives contributs to safe driving and fewer fatalities. Overall, it is an important and effective way to regular driving.

Offering incentives to safe drivers who do not drive radically is an excellent idea that would also contribute to safer roads. Often, safe drivers do not feel that they are recognised for their efforts; they are the silent majority. An example of an reward could be financial, or that they are recognised in their local community. Having incentives in addition to penalties would greatly improve road safety standards.

This essay argues that both rewards and penalties is the key to improving people's safety while driving. In my opinion, the government should instantiate both of these rules to make our roads safer for everyone.