Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

One of the most increasing problems in today's world is increasing in the number of vehicles on the roads. The question is always debatable that of do government should build more roads or improve the public transportation. Many people believe that government should build more roads to accommodate more vehicles. Others reject this notion and claim that improving public transport is the only solution. The following essay would further elaborate both sides with examples before jumping to conclusion.

There are myriad benefits of using private automobiles. To begin with the positive side, usage of the private vehicle is also significant for a better traveling system as there are countless reasons for that but the most significant one is that it saves lots of time. Critics also believe that possessing one's vehicle is the citizen choice and government should take appropriate actions to provide the space for cars on the roads. For example, in Sydney the number of vehicles increased from 20% to 60 % in last decade, so, therefore the number of roads increased drastically.

On the other hand, there is a debate of arguments in favor of my stand. The most important one is that public transport is the only way to keep the overcrowding under control. Not only it improves the public transport but there will be a decline in the environmental damage caused by the increased vehicles. Improving public transportation can help people from all different classes including lower to upper middle class. For example, take newly build metro train route in Delhi according to the ABC news, it reduces the traffic jamming up to 10 percent in the area.

According to the arguments above-mentioned, one can reach out to the conclusion that the benefits of strengthening transportation infrastructure are indeed too good to ignore and further the government has to take a step to improve public modes of transport which not only reduces traffic but also decrease the global warming.