These days, it has become a growing trend to see Library offering students ample opportunity to augment their knowledge in numerous fields from arts and science to trade and commerce by providing hi-tech media gadgets. In this essay, I shall elaborate both aspects, including positive and negative, of accessing information and knowledge in the library using digital gadgets.

At the outset, there are myriad of benefits which can be attributed to the involvement of the digital devices in the setting of the library. Firstly, the most conspicuous one is that the way people now read books and attain knowledge is no longer the same as was even a decade or two earlier, prior to the advent of hi-tech media. Not only can libraries store hundreds of e-books in a single device like e-book readers and tablet devices, but they can also retrieve these books later and read them more conveniently without worrying about storing in large space. Therefore, needless to say, the library stands in a preponderant position, as far as broadening individual's horizons using the state-of-the-art technologies is concerned.

However, another pivotal facet of the argument is that all of the library users are not tech savvy, and it is hard for them to find the information they have been looking. For instance, according to the census data, about 70 percent of library users are either children or older adults. It should also be mentioned that the technology also allows copying the books to other devices, thus leading to piracy and copyright concerns. Hence, it hardly needs to mention that the technological advancement sometimes harms intense of potential readers which have a far-reaching impact on the people.

To recapitulate from the arguments aforementioned, one can conclude that despite having some pitfalls, the advantages of using digital gadgets in collecting information from the library are indeed too great to ignore.