Medical technology helps to live long life. Is that curse or blessing for society and mankind?

In recent years, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see the modern technology in medical increasing the life expectancy across the world, be it an affluent or impoverished nation. In this essay, I will elaborate modern medicine helps to live longer, so it can be regarded as one of the society's greatest achievements.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons which can be attributed to the modern medicines for having a profound effect on the mankind. The most conspicuous one is that the current medication empowers doctors to prevent incurable diseases by finding it very early. Not only new advanced equipment help doctors to go in the right direction to cure a disease, but intelligent people in the world also live a long life, and they help others for a long time through their creative things. Thus, needless to say, all these merits associated with the cutting-edge technology in the medical field keep the humankind in a preponderant position.

However, another pivotal facet of the argument is that the older population is increasing in the country. This could have an adverse economic effect in the developing countries. Moreover, longer longevity also means less young working force in a country resulting in less prosperity and growth. Furthermore, few medicines are addictive for some people, so they cannot live without it and take all their lives. Also, these drugs are very expensive and have taken a commercial shape. Therefore, it hardly needs to mention that all these associated demerits have a far-reaching impact on the society.

To recapitulate from the aforementioned arguments, one can conclude that despite having some pitfalls, the upsides of medication in the current era are indeed too great to ignore.