Discuss both sides of Space travel vs. Current crucial problems faced by humans.

In recent years, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see prodigies discussing the idea of spending astronomical amount of money on the space research across the world, be it an impoverished or affluent nation. At the outset, there are both merits and demerits to the given trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

At the outset, there are myriad of benefits for the advanced technology of the space satellites. The most conspicuous one is that with the countless number of satellites out there, forecasting weather has never been as precise and accurate as now. Not only can scientists predict flood, storm, tsunami and other calamities with near-perfect precision, due to space exploration, but studies on the space also allow constant contact between satellites, space shuttles and the like which would otherwise be next to impossible. Needless to say, all these merits will keep space research in a preponderant position, as far as the state-of-the-art communication is concerned.

However, another pivotal facet of the argument is that space research entails enormous amounts of expenditure, whereas we have got millions of people starving all over the world. Besides, affluent nations can best use their resources by improving the infrastructures in an array of sectors such as healthcare, education, transport and so on, instead of sending robots to find water on the Mars. Last but not least, the large amounts of money spent on these ventures can be better utilised in uplifting the living standards of people in underprivileged nations. Hence, it hardly needs to mention that the demerits associated with the space exploration will have a far-reaching impact.

To recapitulate from the aforementioned arguments, one can conclude that despite having some pitfalls, the upsides of space exploration are indeed too great to ignore.