To survive fierce competition and to achieve sustainable growth, consumer goods companies need to adapt lucrative marketing strategies like discount and special offers. Proponents are debating this phenomenon at the global platform, many are in favor of such gimmick stating it as a mandatory, whilst, others have opposite views that it can impact companies’ image and reputation greatly.

To begin with, there are enormous benefits of such scheme to attract new customers and generate huge sales volume. First, such promotions can give free marketing publicity which can draw the attention of larger consumers. Moreover, companies can offload use inventories by discount and inventories which can be converted in cash quickly. For instance, During the year-end sale in the month of December, most of the companies accumulate mammoth profitability due to the high turnover of the volumes.

On the other hand, if marketing strategies are not smart, efficient, and timely, it can have detrimental impacts on business and tarnish the reputation of the organization. Furthermore, companies should not compromise quality over quantity. For example, the recent incident of popular e-commerce company of selling the poor quality of goods online during the time of period has backfired.

In conclusion, from the above examples, it is evident that companies should implement smart marketing policy based on a study of past data, which can boon for the companies, otherwise it can be turned in to the disastrous or ban.