Smoking is harmful to health and some governments have banned smoking in public. Do you think it is justified on their part to ban smoking?

Most of the nation's government has banned smoking in public as we all know that smoking is injurious to health, which has attracted numerous controversies and drawn the attention from the public. It can be agreed that ban of smoking in public is logical, while on the other hand stands a perspective that this affects the business of cigarette makers. The following paragraphs will elaborate both the sides of the stance taken with pertinent aspects and examples.

To begin with, there are myriad of reasons which proponents cite on the government of a ban on smoking at public places. One of the most preponderant reasons is that ban on smoking in public places prevent other people who can indirectly inhale the smoke and lead to detrimental health issues. Furthermore, this helps in making the environment clean and healthy. For instance, according to the recent survey done by Times India, it is evident that ban by government reduces approx 30% number of deaths from smoking or lungs cancer. Thereby, it is apparent that the government who banned smoking in public is justified.

Nevertheless, some people hold an opposing viewpoint and tend to believe that government earns huge amount of revenue from the smoke business which will hamper if they ban smoking in public. Moreover, this eventually affects shopkeepers running a business on a very scale. To exemplify, in a recent news when the government of one nation ban smoking in public causes strikes, violence in the state and decreases the revenue. Hence, not only it lowers the government revenue but also affecting the local public.

From above discussion, it can be concluded that the impacts of the smoking ban on government are prominent. In my opinion, the advantages overweigh the demerits on government and public.