In Some Countries round the world, Voting Is Compulsory. Do You Agree With The Notion Of Compulsory Voting?

Nowadays, the phenomenon of compulsory voting in some countries has become a long-running dispute among the public all over the world, which leads to a moot question “whether enforcing voting compulsory systems is a reasonable decision or not?”. It is a widely held view that making the mandatory system for voting is highly beneficial, whereas I tend to believe that one must weigh up carefully the pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is a common belief that compelling people to participate in political decision plays a vital role in the fast-changing society. Therefore, I express several reasons to express why I do not support this idea. First and foremost is that the government cannot force or threaten people with fines to cast their vote because voting should be considered as a civic right instead of civic duty. Secondly, in voting compulsory voting individuals have to select a candidate with no political or legal requirement. In addition to this information, a group of politicians, working at a prestigious organization conducted, there is no evidence that some countries like Australia or Brazil with the mandatory voting system have better civic society than France or New Zealand that have never had this strategy.

However, undoubtedly compulsory voting provide people with various positive points. It should be taken into account that people will have this opportunity to participate in decision making and democratic elections. Moreover, their political interests can be stimulated as the civic education.

To recapitulate, I entirely disagree that compulsory voting systems must be taken into consideration. However, as every garden may have some weeds, the local authorities are recommended to enforce stricter legislation, and individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.