Some people believe that academic subjects such as chemistry, physics, and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking.

The debate about what subjects should be included has always been a debatable topic. Many people think that practical subjects provide more knowledge to students. Others reject this notion and believe that both academic and practical subjects are beneficial to students. In my opinion, later proposition appears to be more rational. The following essay would further elaborate both practical and academic subjects are equally beneficial with justifying reasons and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To start with, it is believed that from various factors that learners gain more benefits when studying practical subjects. Firstly, if students are exposed to so many skills, they would prepare for their future careers. For example, if children are taught how simple machines work at school, they are more likely to choose the career in a mechanical field later in life. Secondly, students could apply what they have learned through practical sessions after classes. The best example is that students after learning basic dishes recipe, they immediately start cooking for families at home.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that academic subjects are also held equal importance like practical for a variety of reasons. One of the most basic features is that academic subjects create a strong solid basic foundation on which practical skills are further developed. To illustrate, teachers find difficult to explain how to fix home appliances if students are not well prepared with the fundamentals of electricity which could only be found in physics lessons. Another important value of academics, in order to get admission in top-level university or college learners students, need to have good knowledge of academic subjects.

In conclusion, both academic and practical subjects have their own benefits for the children, but I believe that more emphasis should be given to the topics which will be truly worthwhile in real life. Schools should not stuff children will only theoretical knowledge