Over the past few decades, there has been a high degree of the ambivalence over this matter whether the public transport should be free of charge or not. This is elicited stimulated disputation among the public, whereas some people say that public transport should not be free, I sanguinely believe that the public transport should be made available free of charge. This essay will further elaborate reasons to support this notion and then deduce a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriads of reasons to support this notion but one of the most compelling reason is that when the public transport is free the number of daily commuters would start using the public transport. This, in turn, will reduce the traffic from the road and will also help in the reduction of the air pollution.

On the contrary, there are skeptics who conjecture that making transport free will put an extra financial burden on the transport department. This will impact the maintenance of the transport infrastructure. Although it seems ostensibly veridical this is not the case, as the government can easily manage the expenses cheaply by putting a small tax by which the transport department can manage the finances easily.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments from both the sides, I profoundly believe that freeing the transport system far outweigh its drawbacks. Freeing the transport system not only encourage the people to use the public transport it will also help in the reduction of the traffic from the roads.